You are here: Home » IPL 7 2014 » What are the changes in IPL 7?

What are the changes in IPL 7?

The Indian Premier League or in short the IPL is going to see some major changes in its next edition in 2014. For starters, the tournament will see eight teams taking part which means there is a a team less compared to 2013 with the Pune Warriors getting terminated by the BCCI and the IPL Governing Council. The second is that the tournament will feature less number of foreign players than before. The tournament is likely to be played outside India with General Elections slated to be held in 2014. The final decision regarding the host country is going to be taken once the Election Dates are announced. Either Sri Lanka or Bangladesh are going to host IPL 7!

Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League (Photo credit: Ashwin John)

The auction for IPL 2014 is expected to be held on February 12. For the first time in the tournament history, the auction will be in Indian Rupees instead of the US Dollars. The maximum number of overseas players that a team can have in its squad has been changed to 9 from 11. Also the overall squads are going to be trimmed from 33 players to 27. Franchises can retain a maximum of five players from the upcoming edition of the IPL. And there is going to be a new system called the ‘Joker’s card’ which will allow teams to retain three more players adding up to the limit of five.

The Salary Cap for a Franchise has been fixed at Rs 60 Crores out of which Rs. 39 Crores can be used for the top five players. All the players will go under a fresh auction as their contract with their respective franchises were for a 3-year-period which has expired with the last edition of the IPL.

Enhanced by Zemanta


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *