You are here: Home » Cricket India » Sourav Dada regains Bengal Captaincy!

Sourav Dada regains Bengal Captaincy!

Related Link : Sourav Ganguly

The Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) has given the Ranji Trophy Captaincy back to former Indian Skipper Sourav Ganguly. He had stepped down from leading Bengal last season to concentrate on his batting and let youngsters take the responsibility. But this season, Sourav Ganguly had captained East Zone in the Duleep Trophy which gave the indications that he was up for taking the mantle on his shoulders. Stumper Deep Dasgupta had led Bengal last season that had ended up as the Finalists of the Ranji Trophy Elite Group.

In a major set back to Bengal’s campaign in this season, their leading pace bowler Shib Sankar Paul has been ruled out as he is yet to get fit after he had a knee surgery. Reports are also coming that SS Paul’s employers, Railways are keen to have him play for them from this season. Sourav Ganguly and Bengal’s next test is from the 23rd at Mohali when they take on the homeside Punjab. Former India and Mumbai swing bowler, Paras Mhambrey would continue to be the Coach, meanwhile reports are coming that the CAB is looking to hire the services of Pakistan Great Imran Khan and the famous Australian Coach John Buchanan!

Bengal squad: Sourav Ganguly (capt), Deep Dasgupta (vice-capt, wk), Arindam Das, Rohan Gavaskar, Subhamoy Das, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Manoj Tiwari, Sourashish Lahiri, Shiv Sagar Singh, Ranadeb Bose, Ashok Dinda, Eklakh Ahmed, Amitava Chakraborty

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *