You are here: Home » Australia » Aus name squad for 1st Test

Aus name squad for 1st Test

Related Links : South Africa in Australia 2008/09

Australia has recalled all rounder Shane Watson and new find off spinner Jason Krejza for the 1st Test at Perth against South Africa. Two changes have been made from the squad that was picked for the Adelaide Test against New Zealand. Krejza’s inclusion is subject to his fitness as he has just recovered from an ankle injury will be tested in a state match for Tasmania in the Ford Ranger Cup. Making way for Watson and Krejza are Peter Siddle and Nathan Haurtiz, the off spinner who figured in the Adelaide Test against New Zealand.

With the inclusion of Watson in the 12-man squad, the pressure mounts on star all-rounder Andrew Symonds, who hasn’t had an impressive comeback and seems to have lost his touch. Watson on the other hand had performed very well with both the bat and the ball on the India tour. The advantage that Symonds has over Watson is the fact that he can not only bowl medium pace but can also chip in with very good off spin.

Australia Squad for 1st Test : Matthew Hayden, Simon Katich, Ricky Ponting (Captain), Michael Hussey, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin (WK), Brett Lee, Jason Krejza, Mitchell Johnson, Stuart Clark

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *